Chinese-Forums

cheaper alternatives to scritter

Cavesa

I would love to use the Scritter. But since I saw it the first time, they have removed the option to prepay for longer time for reduced price and I'm afraid paying 14 dollars a month for about five years might be too much for me. I am a student so I need to think twice what to put my money into.

Old fashioned paper and pen lacks the SRS, which bothers me quite a lot. And it is easier to use the tablet when out of home. But there is a more important question. Does it work? How many times would I need to repeat a charater to make sure to remember it? 50 times? 100 times?

Would combining anki and paper and pen work basically similarily to Scritter?

I found only a few apps similar to scritter in some ways, even though most of them seem limited when it comes to the amount of characters or in other ways. But is there at least one that could teach me to write at least a few hundreds of characters for a much lower price?

There is an option to unsubscribe from Scritter and resubscribe. Have you tried it? Do you think I could for example just cram as much as possible during a payed month and than practice for one or two unsubscribed months and again? It seemed possible when I read the FAQs.

I suppose my search is vain and I'll just need to spend less on other things if I want to learn Mandarin.

Why not simply use Pleco flashcards? You can set it up such that you have to write the character into the program's handwriting recognition software, then select the correct character from the list (not quite the same method as Skritter, but retains the element of physically writing the character down).

I think in order to use SRS with the flashcards you need to pay (and possibly the handwriting recognition feature is no longer free), but whatever you have to pay for it'll just be a one-off fee.

Doing the maths, $15/month * 12 months * 5 years = $900, which sure seems like a large chunk of change.