Chinese-Forums

Tones for Proper Names?

Craig Turner

I have tried some searches on this topic but was unable to find anything.

So: If I come across a proper name in Mandarin (traditional is what I'm studying), how can I know how it sounds (the tone)? For example, as you native speakers know, there are families of "styles" in various forms of Chinese martial arts. How can I determine the tone of, say, the "Chen" family style of Taiji, or "Wu"? Even if I know the character, it is possible that it has tone variants.

How do native Chinese determine the tones of a family or given name?

Much thanks from this newbie,

And what a wonderful site full of interesting information!

Best,

Craig

Most family names are well known and only pronounced in one way. The fact that they are proper names does not change their pronunciations. Although there are multi-tone characters, tones are generally not "determined"; each character has its own assigned tone or tones that never change. For example, the character 陈(chen) must be pronounced with a second tone and second tone only.

I would think surnames with more than one pronunciation/tone are not common. I can only think of a few. For example, Mr 樂 can be Mr Le4 or Mr Yue4, and Mr 翟 can be Mr Zhai2 or Mr Di2. Also some words when used as surnames are pronounced differently, e.g. 任 is usaually ren4 but is ren2 when it is a surname. But on the whole usually there is one pronunciation/tone for one surname.

I can understand what has been said about surnames, but is this really true of given names as well? Wouldn't there be lots of 破音字 to worry about?

What about the "given" name of someone like 楊澄甫, who was a famous practitioner of Yang Style Taijiquan? (By the way, I think that 澄甫 was actually his 字, rather than his 名.) Does 澄甫 have any meaning by itself, or is it a "common" name that people would generally know how to pronounce?