Chinese-Forums

Total Beginner: Learning mandarin (long term) - BNU or BLCU ?

Beijing BoB

• New Members

Hello everyone ...

First of all, thanks for having this website. I think it's quite useful.

Secondly, sorry for this huge post! I just take it quite seriously and the time is running and I want to explain myself "properly".

The last couple of weeks, I was reading a lot of topics here about where to study mandarin but however, I still feel confused.

I also used the search function and read through most threads which state a similar question (BNU, BLCU....) but well .. look above.. still confused :-?:help:wall

Honestly, I posted the same "topic" at TBJ but after many days of waiting, I still didn't get any useful answer over there.

Therefore, and as this forum seems to be a little more "focussed" and professional, I really do hope that you girls and guys can help me to stop my confusion.

I herewith c&p my post from TBJ.. I edited/updated it a little:

I would like to ask for your suggestions/help/ideas/recommendations.

I'm in China since January 2012 and used to live and work in Shanghai.

At the end of May, I moved to Beijing.

I want to start studying mandarin in September as I'm really sick of not being able to communicate with most people out there!!

I seriously want to change that!

I want to study Chinese for 1-3+ years and only concentrate on studying for a while.

Please do help me to make a choice.

1. Should I go to BNU (Beijing Normal University) or BLCU (Beijing Langauge and Culture University)?

(It's quite late now and I think the deadline has already passed for most universities. Therefore, I only consider these two right now)

Can anyone give me a recommendation? What's the big difference between BNU & BLCU?

Anyone has been to both and can compare? What are the people like (age/countries etc.)?

Some people say BLCU sucks and they just want your money .. other people think it's fine .. so confusing.