Chinese-Forums

Chinese language and Dyslexia - Any input?

ian

Has anybody done any research on dyslexia and Chinese language? I would be interested in hearing about your studies if you have. I am a native English speaker who has studied Chinese at University - dyslexia caused me problems because my 'working memory' doesn't hold information very well and so the process of studying charactors was much more difficult than for a non-dyslexic.

ian, i would like to help you in Dyslexia,to get over it,i am afraid you have to found a strong base on your chinese phonetics,get used to four tones in chinese characters you know,etc....

Please contact me in MSN or Skype :)

Hey,

Before I did chinese I did a degree in psychology and I did a lot of reading about dyslexia and in particular with Chinese, but I'm afraid I've forgotten a lot of it. There's a much lower incidence of dyslexia in Chinese because it's not an alphabetic language, but I don't think anybody's ever studied how it would affect you in a second language.

Have you ever tried learning other languages and how do you find it? I would think it would be a steep learning curve at first to get used to pinyin but once you have a few characters under your belt, when you learn new ones you could peg their pronunciation together so it might get a lot easier.

If you want to read something about it, there was an article I read recently that was I think in New Scientist, if you go to their website you can probably find it. I would send it to you but gave it to a girl in my tutorial class a couple of weeks ago :-?

Doug

From what I've discovered about dyslexia, it seems that it is probably a fallacy that there is a lower incidence of dyslexia in China because they don't use an alphabetical based alphabet.