Chinese-Forums

Sidney Rittenberg's Memories of Mao

roddy

Sidney Rittenberg is one of the oldest (or handiest?) of the Old China Hands - arrived in 1943, stayed 35 years, spent almost half of that time in solitary confinement, hung out with Mao, Zhu De, Zhou Enlai, Xi Zhongxun (father of Jinping). He has some interesting stories to tell.

And how long were you in prison at that time?

Six years. The first year was in total darkness. It was not good.

That's from an Atlantic interview published last month. There's also an hour-long video of him talking to James Fallows where he talks more about the modern era - on Xi Jinping at 15:00, on the anti-corruption push at 20:00. Fallows just made me giggle by referring to hardliners as the Dick Cheneys of China. 

26:00 is Internet censorship and contrasting the Soviet Union and China on the introduction of the PC

• Like 4

That guys is a legend. I have been sending him messages on facebook for about five years now to go for dinner in Beijing.

Seriously, if I could choose one person to have a chat with on this planet, it would be him. At 92, not so likely to happen anymore though.

• Like 1

I got a very clear statement from General Marshall’s attache, General Henry Byroade, that the Americans were definitely going to let the Nationalists attack and annihilate these 60-70,000 Communist troops in that area. I took that information to the local commanders, Li Xiannian and so on, it proved to be right, and they totally escaped from encirclement.

That's a pretty stunning admission. There has long been allegations that Mao won the war largely with the help of Western Communist sympathizers. Here was a 25-year old American who changed the history of China.