Chinese-Forums

Feedback from (IELTS class) students - how to respond?

Sydney Matt

I'm a new teacher of English, having taught in China for a few months after completing the CELTA in October 2013. Today, and previously, I got some direct feedback from students about my teaching, in both cases, from students in an IELTS preparation class. They said they wanted to talk with me "one-by-one", because the speaking activities they do in pairs or small groups means they "don't know what errors they make". In today's lesson, we used "The News" as a speaking topic - I was using a lesson plan I found on the teachingenglish.org.uk website, so it was quite structured. However, the student also said that "our English is not good enough to talk about this topic" (I truly believe that their English *is* good enough!)

I am missing something? For starters, if in a class of 10 students, each student really did talk to me "one by one", that would leave 9 bored students with nothing to do for several minutes at a time (although there are approaches I could take to solve this part of the problem). It just seems counter to what we learnt on the CELTA about the communicative approach and students doing speaking tasks together. Also, it's still the students that need to do the speaking, not me, so I don't really see why they think it's important to speak directly to me instead of their peers.

I do conduct delayed error correction after speaking tasks, but not for all of them, as some I consider mostly about fluency. So, any tips on how I should respond? I'm thinking of continuing with the pair and small group work, but increasing the focus/time spent on delayed error correction.

• Like 2