Chinese-Forums

[Homework Help] "Effects of Tablet Computer on Children"

Immovable Bodhi

Hi, all.

I once posted here, but I didn't because my Chinese studies lagged. I'm now studying with a lecturer at a University. I need input on this text of mine I made just an hour ago.

I've been studying Chinese for four years, and am currently in the last series of the Mandarin Chinese class in my University, so I think you can guess my proficiency: not too high, not too low; I can read simple analytic texts with uncomplicated logic and grammar. This is the one text I made.

The lecturer required that we use some words from previous lessons, but I did not use some because they did not fit in (it's OK). The reason why the lecturer required this is because she wanted to see how we grammatically used the words in sentences, both semantically and pragmatically.

The theme is 电脑的影响 -- I modified it to 平板电脑对孩子的影响

List of required words

post-49381-0-25453400-1394439640_thumb.png

Here is the Chinese text (I marked the required words in blue):

最近,麦克有一个特别重要的问题。以前,他以为买给他的女儿一个平板电脑会帮她学习一把。以前麦克想,把平板电脑作为生日礼物送给女儿以后,通过平板电脑一直跟因特网连上的功能会帮他的女儿查一切跟学习有关的资料。反而,他女儿渐渐玩平板电脑上的游戏,例如“切水果”,而来拿上那个平板电脑,拿上就是几个小时。没想到,那个平板电脑偏偏变成一个对学习有危的东西了。看样子恐怕世界上大部分父母都有这样的问题。随着中国和世界的现代化,每个家长都不禁买一个电脑给家人,免得掉队。

电脑形式的高速发展和变化,例如是这个平板电脑,有时候难为人着呢。除了价钱不总是合理以外,这样的电脑一般是难免随的,一掉队就会为难人。而且,随着平板电脑的普及,孩子接触平板电脑的几率增大。小孩子对平板电脑利用往往都是用来玩色彩艳丽的一些游戏,看似没有什么不妥,其实却具有很大的危害。按照眼科医院的教授指出,平板电脑是直接发光体,由于画面色彩亮丽,因此会给视觉造成强烈的刺激。哪怕屏幕亮度调低就可以减少刺激,小孩子的眼睛还没完成,因此没有作用。总之,家长都总得仔细地调查他们小孩子与平板电脑的作用。

好在,这些平板电脑到因特网一直连上的功能真正会帮学生学习一把。外语学生会在所有地方查网络上电子词典,使他们的词语和语法丰富;化学学生会容易地看看原子的图像。总之,家长买平板电脑给儿子是还可以的,只要仔仔细细地陪孩子的作用。

As you can see, it's pretty complicated. I took some of the sentences from Haxiu.

This is the English translation. I wrote the Mandarin first.