Chinese-Forums

How do you guys setup your flashcard decks? English to Chinese or Chinese to English?

andyfastow

17 members have voted

1. 1. How do you prefer to set up your flashcard decks?

• Chinese on front, English on back
    • English on front, Chinese on back
    • Chinese on front, Chinese on back
    • Sentences with cloze deletion
    • Pinyin on front, Chinese on back
    • Other - specify in the comments below

I'm making my first deck in Anki using words and phrases I've recorded from some sessions with tutors I did this week. Since I've never done this before, I'm wondering whether I should put the English on the front of the card and try to recall the Chinese, or do it the other way around. I imagine that different people will prefer different approaches as is the case with anything, but I'm wondering if there is one way that is widely considered to be superior at promoting recall.

Pimsleur uses English to Chinese in their audio lessons... seems like maybe some kind of research might have gone into that choice so I'm tempted to set up my deck the same way. How do you guys do it?

Well... in one of my decks, I set it so that I am prompted in three ways.... 1. prompt - english/pinyin : response - hanzi... .2. prompt - hanzi (with a 'p'): response - pinyin... 3. prompt hanzi: response - English and pinyin

One other thought is that maybe consider memorizing example sentences that use the new vocabulary word. This will help in two ways.. 1. give a context for usage... 2. because Chinese is sometimes like a song, if you are getting jammed up remember which tone or pronunciation to use, you could recall the sentence and 'sing' it!  I think some of you know what I am talking about... Anyway, hope this helps.

Chinese on the front, English on the back is useful for passive understanding, vice versa seems more helpful for active use. Chinese-Chinese would probably be the gold standard, but using both languages is useful for translation skills.

• Like 2