Chinese-Forums

Employment Opportunities with a degree in Psychology

deremifri

Hopefully this type of question has not been asked too much before, but here it goes: 

Although I am currently in the process of obtaining my Bachelor's degree in Psychology (still have two years to go), my real wish is to work in China after graduation. 

My interests (and hopefully someday skills) and my skills lie in Psychotherapy, Human Resources and Human-Computer Interaction. 

Now, I can imagine that Psychotherapy is not a very promising option (though there seem to be a few foreigners in Shanghai doing that), but what about the other two fields? 

Assuming I will have a decent grasp of Chinese (...someday), what are my chances to lend a secure and stable job in China? 

Will be grateful for any advice or experiences, thanks.  

Oh, and before you guys ask : I did spend a considerable amount of time in China doing volunteer work, so I know the basics of "China: How it really is"

I'm not an expert on this field, but since no one else has chimed in here's my two cents:

The language skills required to do any sort of therapy in Chinese in China might be prohibitive (unless you wanted to do your Masters/Doctorate in China), I think that would take a native or pretty much near native language proficiency to be viable. That leaves HR and Human-computer, those both have business in common. Are you interested in business or management work? I have friends who have worked in business across the Pacific and language skills, HR and a Psychology degree with some business/management related class (or a minor) might be a very alluring combo on a CV.  Good luck!