Chinese-Forums

Proof read of my Chinese text please?

limari

Hi, I am studying for my final exam on Chinese in Germany.

I wrote a Chinese text to practice my writing skills and it would be great if you could tell me about any mistakes I made.

Thank you :)

力克是一个中学学生。他主在上海。

他的爱好是唱和画画儿。力克常常要做爱好。

因为他的父母觉得他应该学课文,他很慢。

两个星期以后力克考过汉语。他考好!现在他可以唱和画画儿。
所以他的父母觉得他能做好工作。

It is supposed to say:

Like is a high school student. He lives in Shang Hai.

His hobbies are singing and painting. Like would like to to his hobbies very often.

Since his parents think he needs to study for his chinese test, he is very busy.

Two weeks later he wrote his chinese test. He was very good! Now he can sing and paint.

For that reason (being good at the test) his parents think he will get a good job.

主 is wrong for live.

唱 is not used as a noun.

爱好 is something you have (有), not something you do (做), so you need to find another way to say it.

学课文 is not exactly 'study for his chinese test'.

慢 is wrong for busy.

考过 is awkward after 以后.

You need something between 考 and 好.

做好工作 means he already have a job and does it well, not 'get a good job'.

The placement of 现在他可以唱和画画儿。 makes 所以 confusing. See, you have to explain it in the translation as well.

• Like 2

Thanks a lot :) I've changed everything I could but I'm not sure if it's correct now.

And I didn't know how to change: "考过 is awkward after 以后.".

Anyway this is what I've got so far :)

力克是一个中学学生。他住在上海。
他的爱好是唱歌儿和画画儿。力克常常要时间有爱好。
因为他的父母觉得他应该学课文,他很忙。
两个星期以后力克考过汉语。他考很好!
所以他的父母觉得他能找到好的工作。
因为他现在有多的时间,他可以唱和画画儿。

You fixed the first 唱 but not the second.

要 is need, not want / would like to.

When I said you need another way to say it, I mean you'll need to rewrite it like "He'd like to spend time on his hobbies often." or "He'd like to do those things he likes often." Right now your sentence sounds like "He often needs time have hobbies." which isn't correct in English either.