Chinese-Forums

Ethnic study experience in small Yunnan city

Bluefalcon

I'm currently studying in a small city in Yunnan, Baoshan, at the Baoshan Teacher's College. The program is great with all the normal classes like listening ability, grammar, spoken language, reading, character writing, and other extras in the past like Chinese caligraphy and Taijiquan (like a very slow kata in Taikuando). The program is set to have you passing the Chinese Language Proficiency Test (HSK) in 3 years.

Right now there are only 2 students. There have been up to five in the past, but apparently no one knows about this unique opportunity away from the loud noise and distractions of the bigger cities.

Local people's language is just as "standard" and understandable to practice with as those in Kunming, and 100 times better than the Changsha dialect universally spoken in Changsha where I studies for just over 1 semester before changing. Locals have lots of free time and want to talk. Also, almost no one speaks English and this is a plus for learning the language without distraction.

The expenses are incredibly cheap, with nice apartments for around ¥500/mo. ($65/mo.), and taxis (nice Voltzwagens) starting at ¥3 (first 2 km.). Local food is also extremely cheap, although "Western" options are not so appetizing. The airport currently has 2 flights to/from Kunming a day for anywhere from ¥400-550 per way, but the 6-hour bus ride is only ¥150.

I encourage anyone who's tired of studying in Kunming for whatever reason to check out this opportunity. Also, anyone looking for a great place to learn Mandarin, check it out. The school's foreign affairs officer is great and will get your student visa from the PSB for however long you want to study.

The school's cool web page, Baoshan Teacher's College.

Yours, Bluefalcon

Bluefalcon,