Chinese-Forums

How to get your children to learn Mandarin

victorhart

My latest blog post (www.mandarinexperiment.com) is about getting your small children to learn Chinese.

Some of you may balk at a total beginner such as myself giving such advice, but please understand that much of my post is tongue-in-cheek.

At any rate, I do believe that if parents, when they put their little kids in front of a TV set, would put on Chinese programming instead of Backyardigans, and stick to it over a few years, half the battle would be won.

And I believe I have found the perfect show for doing this. For those that don't want to read my blog, I'll spill the beans: Qiao Hu. I'm sure most 1 or 2 year olds would find it tolerable at least, and if they grew up watching it, wouldn't mind continuing to watch Chinese programs as they grew a bit older.

I'd be interested to know if anyone has experience or other ideas in this vein. Thanks!

If I had a small child I would follow your experiment wholeheartedly.
Chinese people are so eager to learn about our culture and language, while we in the West hardly make any effort. As a result, a huge culture knows a lot about us while we know very little about them. Our ignorance (or negligence) can be a huge opportunity for the next generation.
Love your blog.

rkraft - Thank you, I'm so glad you liked the blog and hope you will continue to visit it.

miaomiao - That is cool that you have also discovered Qiao Hu and that, as a native speaker, you can confirm its quality as a resource for kids! I would say it is akin to a Chinese person who wants to have their kids learn English discover Sesame Street. OK, maybe not quite the same quality, and for an even younger age group, but nonetheless it's perfect for learning Mandarin.