Chinese-Forums

Time it takes to pronounce understandable tones

Borodin

• New Members

I'm still learning myself but I think there are two things you should be aware of:

- The tones are not fixed, they can be altered in spoken mandarin for the purpose of facilitating speech - take ni3hao3 (formally third tone for both words) which is actually spoken ni2hao3 (easier to speak). You can find the rules crawling the web

- There is a certain "rythm" in spoken mandarin, so set characters are spoken together in a way that the meaning would not be lost to the listener... I'm still trying to figure out this point

Don't know if this made some sense though :)

Borodin, what is your current level in listening comprehension? 

The things you ask about happen automatically in every language.

I wouldn't think of it as saving time, although it does. To me, economizing on muscular effort is the key thing happening.

You can study some of this - the parts that can be explained and learned economically enough, like those that manualsp mentioned - but most of it is probably not codified digestibly enough (linguistics, speech physiology, etc).

"How do you tackle this?"

Select graduated materials at a lower level and build up from there. Apparent (muscular) ease in speaking, and hopefully then in listening to others doing the same, should appear along with and as a part of "fluency". I advise you not to try to analyse this too much. 

I empathize and sympathize with you fully. Good luck. :-)

AFAIK, the tones are pronounced differently in individual characters and compound words. There seems to be a strong form and week form of each tone, and tones affect each other in sequence. So a practical way to learn them is to learn them in pairs or even triplets. Maybe after a good grasp of all the possible tone pairs(11, 12, 13, 14, 21...), things would become easier. And also the 5th tone, as the "的"in "伦敦的".

Hope it helps.