Chinese-Forums

I am wearing - in Chinese

jennielo

Hi, i'm currently a Beginners Mandardin Class Teacher for a college, i'd just like to clarify a few things.

To say I am wearing a black coat today, in chinese is it important to add the 了 - I.E showing the action has been completed, or is it acceptable to put,

我今天穿黑大衣(as opposed to 我今天穿了黑大衣)

:help

I think 我今天穿了黑大衣 is right, but it is not right for the translation. I don't think it has the same meaning as 我今天穿着黑大衣.了 here is a perfective aspect marker and therefore shows a completed action done in the past. while 着 is an imperfective aspect marker that shows an uncompleted action taking place in the present. So, based on this (and please correct me if I am wrong...) I would translate both sentences as

1. "Today I wore a black coat." and 2. "Today I am wearing a black coat." respectively.

And as daydreamer put it, the着 here shows a state.

• 2 weeks later...

Qin Chen, if you say今天我穿着一件黑色大衣, don't you have to use 的 after 黑色? I was taught that it is not good chinese to say 2-syllable adjectives without 的 when modifing something (not to say your chinese is bad or anything :)

As for the early discussion, I basically agree with what Nipponman and Chin Chen have said, but wanted to amplify on this sort of often confusing issue.