Chinese-Forums

Speech pathology in China?

metal.lunchbox

I teach English in Changde, Hunan, a small-medium city by Chinese standards. I have a ten year old student who appears to have some learning difficulties. The students in this class are absolute beginners. I took over this class from another teacher beginning with the third class and in the first class we taught them "hello", etc. Even though none of the students are great at pronouncing English yet, I noticed that this one girl was failing in very consistent ways. I suspected that she may have severe hearing loss so I spoke to her after class in Chinese. Then I discovered that she can hear fine and has patterned speech problems in Chinese. I spoke to her mother about this, and suggested that though I was happy to have her in my class, she was not disruptive, and appeared to enjoy it very much, without professional help to address the girls condition, she would fall further and further behind until she soon found the class no longer enjoyable. I also encouraged her to seek professional help because without proper intervention, the student's speech problems will likely continue and handicap her in other areas, not just my English class.

The mother is financially capable of hiring a professional, but seemed helpless. She insisted that I help her myself, as she didn't seem to know how to find anyone else. Of course I want to help this girl, but she would benefit more from seeing an expert. So I have some questions about China. Is speech pathology such a rare profession in China? In the U.S. children with speech problems would automatically receive intervention from a trained speech therapist at school, do schools in China have speech therapists? Are there speech therapists in China with private clinics? Outside of Beijing and Shanghai? Should I tell this woman to just open a phone book and find someone or is it likely that in a small-medium Chinese city like this, that just isn't possible?