Chinese-Forums

Short films about China to show beginner students

prateeksha

Hello all. I have recently started teaching 基础汉语 in Delhi University. The 材料 is pre-decided. The Elementary Chinese Readers series is being followed in DU ever since Chinese teaching started here. However, the teachers have leeway in experimenting with teaching methods and can make use of A/V material in the class too.

The class I teach is at complete beginner level. We are doing ECR Book 1. I wish to show short movies about different aspects of China to better engage them in learning. Here I am talking about very broad-based films/videos like the ones shown on TLC or NatGeo, where the idea is to familiarise the layperson with a new topic. 

Could people please suggest some short films (30-45 minutes preferably, duration negotiable depending upon how good the film is) I could show to my students? Some of the ideas I have in mind are transformation of China in the last century (cityscape, pop culture, international perception), food, martial arts.. Please remember that the students are complete beginners, and are rather unfamiliar with China. (Their quoted reasons for taking up the language can be discussed here, too :P  )

Hi Prateeksha,

perhaps you could check at a Confucius Institute library if there is one around.

The Chinese Cultural Center in Paris has a library where people can check out DVDs, and a lot of them are relatively short documentaries about various aspects of Chinese culture, with English subtitles and/or soundtrack. List here: http://www.cccparis.org/mediatheque_DVD_documentaires.htm

Or perhaps you could obtain some material from Confucius Institute Online or Hanban directly. I remember reading about book giveaways to associations and organizations that teach Chinese, I don't remember if DVDs were also included...

• Like 1

Could people please suggest some short films (30-45 minutes preferably, duration

Please remember that the students are complete beginners