Chinese-Forums

where is the best place to learn chinese ?

lacy

Where in New York do you mean?

If you're an absolute beginner you could just take classes at a community college. Or, if you're in the city (not sure about outside) you could find free chinese language classes at some public libraries. A few years ago I did that and it was a lot of fun and a great way to practice.

• Like 1

It depends what you mean by "best."

If you're wanting to actually use the language, then classes are likely not a good idea. Or at least you have to be very selective about it, it's easy to wind up in a class where they're fixated on being correct and writing from day one; resulting in never actually getting a chance to use the language before building up massive complexes.

I'd recommend getting a basic program and then getting QQ International, I'm sure you'll have no problem finding natives looking to help you out in exchange for a bit of help. I personally like Language Audio Books Power Mandarin Accelerated: Chinese Edition, you can get a copy from Audible for $20 or a bit less if you don't mind subscribing for the month.

I wouldn't personally waste time and energy on the written language until after getting a grasp on the spoken language. It's just too easy to find yourself spending a year or more studying and still not be able to do anything.

• 1 month later...

If New York City is meant, then the following could be pertinent to your question, lacy:

Just a tip of an iceberg:

http://www.chinainstitute.org

http://www.newschool.edu/continuing-education/chinese/

Not specific to language learning but this place seems very attractive:

http://asiasociety.org

When I lived in New York City, I took Spanish classes at NYU's school of continuing education. I think going the class route could be good to get you started and I think grawrt's suggestions are sound.