Chinese-Forums

Help me understand my China Mobile phone plan?

obscuritea

I'm studying at a university here and signed up with China Mobile for some 48元/month deal they have for students. While the person I talked to did know some English, and I know some Chinese, phone plan terms are pretty hard to communicate 100% clearly in a foreign language, so I'm pretty confused about how this all works-

1. This is a monthly plan, but I don't know how I'm supposed to pay for it? They asked for 50元 when I signed up but didn't really say anything about the next month. Like do I just go to a China Mobile store every month and say I need to pay for this upcoming month? And how do I know when the next period's 48元 is due?

2. If this is a monthly plan, why do I still have a balance like on a pay-as-you-go plan? The plan I chose is supposed to include 360 minutes of talking, 400 texts, 4gb of mobile data on campus/800mb off-campus, etc. I assumed this meant you only would need to buy a 充值卡 if you went over the limit- however, I just got a text today saying I've used 35 元 and now have 15元 left on my account, even though I should be still well within the plan's allowance (and according to the text, it seems I have definitely not gone over any of the provided amounts in the <2 weeks I've had the phone). Why is money being deducted from my balance (which I didn't even know I had) if what I've used so far is supposed to be included in the plan? Or am I just completely misunderstanding this somehow?

Any help is super appreciated, I just want to understand what I'm paying for, and also avoid suddenly being without phone service because I don't how it works.

48元 will be deducted every month, For pre-paid  SIM card, it is usually deducted from 1st - 5th of each month. Because you are  new user, they postpone deducting, I suppose.  If you don't go over any of the provided amount, no need to worry. Just wait and see if it is OK next month.