Chinese-Forums

Totally newbie with a few specific questions

Altrios

• New Members

I'm an American, turning 40 and want to go teach English in China.  I almost did it 15 years ago and regret never doing it.  I had a chinese wife but now divorcing and want to go to China to live there.  Thus, I am very familiar with the culture and people.

I have been a training manager for several years; MBA educated.  No classroom teaching experience.

I also want to live in Guangzhou/Shenzhen as I think that's the area of China I will like most.  (I have visited China once).

My plan is to get there around summer of 2015 and look for jobs starting int he fall.  Ideally, I see myself teaching University and privates focused on Business.  But I need so much input.  

1) I was thinking of doing an online TESOL cert. program.  Since I have no classroom experience.  I don't have a chance for CELTA though. Is this smart to at least get that under my belt/resume?

2)Is it a stretch to think University is possible? I really just don't want to teach kids; and at the same time want to make as much money as possible.

3) I see myself staying long term, not just 1-2 years.  I am also now taking an online mandarin class to improve my skills there, but I am a ways from conversational at this point.

4) Do I try to find the position online or just show up on tourist visa and search during that time?

5) When is university (or high school if that's my next option) positions hired?

Forgive me for assuming I can do this with no experience, I totally get it and and respect those who have done this as a career.

Hello and welcome to the forums.

I don't know if you did any searches on the forum but there is a sub-forum for people teaching English in china.

There is a huge amount of information in this forum here http://www.chinese-forums.com/index.php?/forum/28-teaching-english-in-china/

I know nothing about the subject, but there should be something here to help.