Chinese-Forums

Pronunciation, voice in my head and real voice differ a lot

Crispycrisp

Hey,

i just started learning Mandarin (about a week ago) using NPCR, MMCG and ChinesePod/ChineseClass and i'm struggling with  pronunciation - the words/sentences sound correct in my head and i can read just fine, but when i try to actually speak out loud my mouth doesn't move the way i want it to. 

My tongue is way too slow and keeps tripping up when trying to pronounce ji,qi,xi after zh,ch,sh (like in '熟悉') - polysyllabic words are >killing< me (like '马来西亚', jesus)! Also, when trying to speak fast my 3rd tone "i" sounds like 2nd tone "i" (like in '请念课文。' qing3 sounds like qing2). Compared to native speakers my voice doesn't have any "rhythm" (sounds more like staccato).

Do you know how to fix this? I'm doing the NPCR pronunciation drills and imitate/shadow every audio lesson every day (neighbours probably think i've gone insane, talking to myself in crippled Chinese). 

How long did it take you to get comfortable with the sounds/tones?

Cheers!

Hello and welcome

I have to agree with Flickserve it takes time, it has only been a week. There are people who have been learning for much longer who still have this kind of problem.

It will require practice then some more practice and practice some more :)

Do not despair at this early stage.

Do you record yourself? Sometimes this can help because you can hear what you actually sound like and it might not be as far off as you imagine.

I used to have a bit of software that allowed you listen to a native speaker and see a voice print of them and then you speak and then you can compare your voice print.

I am afraid I can't remember what it is called. A search on the net may bring up something.

So don't worry just keep practicing and above all enjoy.

• Like 1