Chinese-Forums

6 Months Intensive Chinese Program Recommendation

scoot123

Hi folks,

since I'm new over here a few words about my plans: I just finished my studies (Business Informatics) and plan to develop my Chinese language skills from beginning of January to July next year full-time. I'm still a beginner, but with 2 months I can reach HSK3, I guess. I want speaking and reading, NO character writing. Modern vocabulary, best business and IT-oriented. As intensive as possible.

I found this course of UIBE interesting, but begins only at the end of february with the semester: Intensive Chinese Language Training Program

Interesting, because it's a bit more intense then the offered Business Chinese.

• Any reviews/opinions on that course?
  • Alternatives (at other universitites)?

Furthermore UIBE offers short term programs from 4-6 weeks which could be interesting for January and February.

• Here any opinions alternatives?

Last issue: Visa. I have to leave China soon and plan to be back before New Years Eve.

• Any chance, that my visa gets extended at the end of February (switch to course at University) without the need to leave the mainland? Any experience/recommendation on this issue?

Thanks a lot in advance - nice that I found this forum :)

best,

scoot

Any University course you attend will have more of a focus on reading and writing. This is partly because that's how Chinese education is generally and partly due to practical considerations. The class sizes are usually from 8-18 so it's hard to get a lot of talking time in. Of course, the speaking class is all about speaking but really, you end up doing a lot of listening.

From what you've said about no writing (disagree with this stance by the way), you would really have no choice but to go to a private school. Any University program will get you writing short assignments by hand, doing dictation tests and all their exams will involve some writing by hand.