Chinese-Forums

Canadian getting a Z visa in Bangkok

alwaysstriving

I'm currently staying in Bangkok. I plan to head to mainland China soon to teach English.

Of course I have a degree, TESOL cert, clean criminal record check etc... I have also taught in South Korea for a few years.

Anyway.......

Unless things have recently changed, it is possible for me to get my Z visa done at the Chinese embassy in Bangkok (so long as Bangkok and not a Canadian city is written on the invitation letter). I have friends that have done that and I have read blogs of people who have done that. HOWEVER the regulations can change at anytime.

I have e-mailed the Chinese embassy in Bangkok to ask them (maybe they will reply maybe they won't) but in the meantime can anyone shed any light on this?

I have had a couple of job interviews on Skype with Chinese recruiters and they seemed to think that I need to go to Canada. They are of course simply doing what is easiest for them and taking the route that they know will not give them any hassles. When I e-mail recruiters abut this they either don't reply or they suggest to talk on Skype about it. Some recruiters have hinted (via e-mail) that it may be okay. It seems that it's considered a tad dodgy and a recruiter doesn't want to have a paper trail of them saying that it's okay.

As an aside, I'm teaching during the evenings at a private language school in Bangkok. My job is okay but I can make much more money in China and I want to learn Mandarin language. Since I teach at a private language school I don't feel that bad about breaking my contract (If I were at a public school and they were loosing their home room teacher during the year I may feel guilty about it). I will give the school notice before I head to China.

Thanks for reading and thanks in advance for any information.