Chinese-Forums

Speeches in Chinese

ouyangjun

Very well done!

Speaking to a large group is a completely different skill from chatting or conversing one-to-one, it requires just as much practice, and a lot of very specific vocabulary. I'm an English teacher, and have done quite a lot of teaching of this topic - but in English. I'd also like to develop my ability to give speeches and presentations in Chinese.

I often have to give presentations to large groups of students (100-200), and have recently started doing so partly in Chinese. I still feel like I'm a long way from being able to do so exclusively - and whether I should is another question, as they're supposed to be learning English...

I use Chinese to get their attention at the beginning and end - as you said:

Once I got up on stage and started speaking in Chinese the eruption of cheers and applaud from the audience gave me a pump of adrenaline and confidence that carried me through the speech and left me feeling happier than I ever imagined.  The bar was low... I'm the new leader here and most of the employees did not expect me to give a speech in Chinese :)

and although I don't get quite such an enthusiastic reception it definitely helps to engage. I also use Chinese to stress and reiterate key points, the things that they need to understand (e.g. log-in details, deadlines, course pathways - this stuff they need to know and those with poor English shouldn't be penalised, well at least not until assessment).

I also just finished four weeks at a Chinese language school, and gave a thank you speech in Chinese at the end, which was quite intimidating but very rewarding.