Chinese-Forums

Does speaking fluent Chinese help people in the english teaching job market?

ablindwatchmaker

I am wondering if I can expect to make more money teaching English in China if I have the ability to speak Chinese. For instance, I would think that a small child with no prior knowledge of English would require English classes taught in Chinese for quite some time before they could go to an all English class. If I am able to teach the youngest children who don't know any English and I'm able to use Chinese to explain concepts, wouldn't they provide some kind of pay premium? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

I've no specific info, but my guess would be no. For starts, the assumption that children or students in general, need to start with English classes in Chinese is wrong. A competent teacher may use comprehensible input without need for supporting language, however often a supporting language is used. Also for absolute beginners is English competence of the teacher less of an issue, as more people are qualified for the job I would expect lower wages to teach small children/beginners. If you're after better pay you should aim at higher level students and richer students that are able and willing to pay more. My guess is that this requires a network/marketing and/or better (provable) qualifications and experience. So my guess is if it's just higher wages you're after better invest in learning educational skills and get quality experience.

• Like 2

I don't teach English in China, but I've read a few posts on the subject. And if I'm not mistaken, some teacher's contracts warn of being fined if he/she speaks Chinese in the classroom. Someone please correct me if I'm wrong.

Silent has got it right.