Chinese-Forums

Any Recommendation for Beginner Mandarin textbooks/materials?

lingshu8

My wife (who is Chinese) is planning to start teaching free Mandarin classes in our community.  We live in a rural part of the Southern U.S. and most of her students will probably be elderly retirees who have a casual interest in learning some Mandarin.  If there is interest, she may teach some children as well.  Classes will probably be small, and she may do some private lessons.

Does anyone have recommendations for a textbook for this kind of class?  A complete course that includes audio-visual material, exercise workbooks, etc. would be nice, but not necessary.  I started studying Mandarin way back in the 1980's, so I am not familiar with the latest teaching materials.

Any suggestions (and perhaps a few comments explaining the reasons for your recommendation) would be greatly appreciated!

I have been thinking about your question/s and found myself wanting to ask some questions.

1) As they are free lessons, who will pay for the textbooks etc? (I ask because I don't want suggest things that are not feasible)

2) Do they have access to the internet and the skills to use it?

3) Are the children very young or perhaps 10 - 12 year olds for example.

4) Are any of the learners heritage learners, do they have any prior knowledge or exposure to Chinese?

I hope you understand why I am asking these questions and if you can't or don't want to answer, that's ok, I will just do the best I can with what we have :)

I do have some suggests but their usefulness will depend on the answers.

Most foreigners use books from BLCU, they're quite good and range from beginner, intermediate to advanced. The books come with CDs. But for visual learning, I suggest downloading episodes of CCTV's 快乐汉语 programme.

Shelley wrote:

1) As they are free lessons, who will pay for the textbooks etc? (I ask because I don't want suggest things that are not feasible)