Chinese-Forums

Best Listening Resources (for Questions)

Caladriusse91

Hello, I have been learning Mandarin now for just over 2 months. I learn everyday and would say that I am now just past the A2 level.

I have been using a variety of resouces to learn - Chinese Grammar Wiki for grammar, flash cards for the characters, an app for learnng new words, but most of all Pimsleur Mandarin course for speaking.

I have very nearly finished Pimsleur Mandarin III and everybody here is astounded by how good my Mandarin is when I am speaking. The course does a fantastic job of teaching you how to speak the language.

There is one small problem however!

The Pimsleur course always uses an American who speaks in English and asks you to translate something. For example he will say "I have stayed in Shanghai for two weeks" in English. I then have to translate into Mandarin, say it out loud, then 3 seconds later a Mandarin speaker will say the correct sentence.

Like I mentioned this is great for speaking, but it is awful for listening! Not once in the course have I been asked a question in Mandarin!

Whenever I am on the bus and somebody asks me a question in Mandarin I really struggle! I struggle to listen. If I spot a few words well then I can usually answer them and I can say a good 6-10 sentences if I was just talking. But there are too many times now when I struggle to hear anything.

Does anybody know of a good AUDIO listening resource that will help me when it comes to questions and listening.

A reverse of the Pimsleur course where one Mandarin speaker fires questions at you, then gives you 5 seconds to respond, would be ideal! It can start with easy questions (name, location, duration etc) and move onto harder ones. But I am not sure if such a course exists!

Regards.

Glossika (do a forum search) includes questions and answers but it's still repetition.