Chinese-Forums

Rule for sequences of 3rd tone syllables?

mirgcire

I have been explaining Mandarin to beginners for a few years now and recently I discovered a rule for tone change that applies to sequences of 3rd-tone syllables.  The purpose of the rule is to make it easier for mandarin learners to produce sentences "correctly".  The rule does not predict how every Mandarin speaker might handle tone change for sequences of 3rd tones, because many variations are allowable.  This rule simply defines the easiest method of applying proper tone change to a sequence of 3rd tone syllables.

For any sequence of third tone syllables, all but the last will change to 2nd-tone, except when the sequence includes a double-third tone word (such as 可以).  The second syllable of a double-third will be pronounced third tone no matter where it appears in the sequence.

For example, 我可以买你的手机吗?can be pronounced 223235315.

And,  我也很好 can be pronounced 2223.

I use the word can in italics because these are not the only ways to pronounce these sequences.

I am interested in hearing what others think of this "rule".  Is it correct?  If not, do you have a counter example?  Is it useful?  Is un-helpful?  BTW, I wouldn't be surprised if this has already been proposed by others.

Thanks!

To be honest I think this "rule" is a little misleading. It is misleading because third tones don't actually change into second tones when they are chained together. Rather the third tone's curve becomes more like a second tone's curve when linked up (but it's still a third tone). Native speakers have no trouble telling you when you that a two syllable word made up of two third tones sounds different from a two syllable word with a second tone followed by a third. You can confirm this by running words through something like Praat.

To take one of your examples:  ---  我也很好 can be pronounced 2223.