Chinese-Forums

Working in China

Coys1991

What's the best type of job to do in Shanghai?  I have a history degree with a focus in Chinese.  But recently I want to do some type of translation work.  Would it be good to do this?  Possibly for an American company that's over in China or work with a Chinese company that does business with America?  When I go back to Shanghai, I will be taking the HSK tests I have never done them before.  But it's time I really need to crack down on my Chinese.  What are some good language schools to go to in Shanghai? 

Thanks everyone much appreciated.

As far as I'm aware, getting decently paid translation work in China is very difficult due to the number of Chinese who speak English well and can do the work cheaper, and probably faster, as well as visa hassles for this type of work (most employers can't be bothered dealing with foreigners' visas when there are thousands of Chinese who can do the job). Most people working in China either seem to be English (or other) teachers, or people whose companies has sent them.

That's what I was almost of thinking of doing.  I am teacher there now but I could work and represent as a person from a United States company probably.  I was reading some one else's article and they mentioned how competitive it is over there.  

Is it possible to work, e.g do some part-time teaching, on a long-term student visa? Also, how difficult is it to find for a non-native-speaker, although a native level speaker, an English teaching job in Shanghai? Is it the passport that matters, the qualifications or does being a waiguoren suffice sometimes? I am just trying to come up with ways to earn some pocket money to finance my stay and studies in Shanghai.

Edit: I read that X-type visa by itself doesn't give you the right to work in China, but it is possible to get some sort of permit from the university. Can anyone elaborate on that, please?