Chinese-Forums

Developing an ear for tones

eion_padraig

So I've been studying Chinese for about 7 years now, though not continuously. For 5 of those 7 years I've been living in China, but in Shanghai and Guangzhou so I'm not surrounded by especially great Mandarin speakers. Most of my learning has been one on one tutoring with experienced teachers and self-study with short stints in classrooms with other Chinese language learners.

In my group of friends, I have some Chinese friends whom we only speak in Chinese, but I would say much of the day I'm in an English speaking environment. Other than a few weeks here and there where I've done traveling and been in immersion environments, my work environment is primarily an English language one. Three or four times a month I hang out with friends for extended periods of time (3 - 6 hours) where we only speak Mandarin, though other times I'll be with folks where we switch in and out of Chinese and English depending on the situation.

So I've been wondering if I will ever develop a way for identifying tones by ear. My listening skills in Chinese are fair to good. With everyday conversations I have no problem and these days I can even isolate new words when they are otherwise used in a familiar language/grammar pattern. With a new word, I can fairly accurately repeat the word with proper tones if I've just heard someone say it in isolation. However, I still have a hard time saying, "Oh, that is a fourth tone followed by a first tone." Even on the basic listening practice where they drill you on tones, I probably get them correct 85% of the time.