Chinese-Forums

Is there any benefit to studying the pinyin of individual characters independent of meaning?

Friday

I am an intermediate-level student. I have many Anki decks for studying vocabulary and sentences (H->E, H->P, E->P). I've been careful to only study complete words, removing single characters from the decks that cannot be a word when in isolation.

I found some shared Anki deck with the front cards just showing a single character and the back side showing the possible pinyin for that character. It contained pretty much every character you will find in use. This deck focuses only on learning the pronunciations associated with the characters.

It would perhaps take me two years for me to go through the entire deck at a safe rate for good retention. Would there be any benefit at all to studying such a deck? Would this knowledge of the sounds for the characters aid in deciphering while reading or in comprehension while watching films?

It certainly has value, character knowledge helps in deciding on the meaning of new words and when to use different near synonyms etc. The real big question is whether it's a good time investment or that you're better of investing your time in another way.

Personally I think it's a very good idea to spend some time on learning individual characters. I'm not sure or systematically learning all the individual characters is the best way to do it,  but what would be a good way I'm not sure.

IMHO and I am no expert, but personally I wouldn't study just the pinyin of individual characters. As each character can have more than one meaning and even more than one sound, I would study them as I encounter each variation in association with a word and meaning.

I think that one should learn characters, pinyin and meaning together for each word you want to learn, for me there is so much information in the character that helps with remembering and understanding.