Chinese-Forums

I can read Chinese!

Ori_A

Well.. no.. I can't really read chinese.. but I'll get there.
My name is Ori, and I'm currently studying Chinese at Xiamen University. I started two months ago, after three years of learning it in my home country. I am amazed to see how fast my progress here is, but yet even more amazed to realize how little I learned in three years outside of China.
Yes, I can understand many characters and many words. Yes, I can read *some* Chinese. No, I don't consider this as "being able to read".
Don't get me wrong, I'm well aware that this is a long process that will not end when I will be able to actualy read, and I'm enjoying every minute of it. But I started wondering when will this moment arrive, that I could just pick a random newspaper or random book, look at a random page and understand what is written (while not necesserily understand every word and character).

I can tell that it's going to be much more exciting than getting to the same level in English, for example (with no disrespect to the English language.. :) )

And this is actualy the point of this thread - to ask some of you if you are willing to share that moment, when you suddenly told yourself: "Hey, I can read Chinese!"

How many years did it take you to get there? at what point did you actualy tell yourself that you can read? I get the feeling that once you can actualy read full documents/books/newspapers/etc., it is much easier to continue the reading practice, since so much more is available - would you say that's true?

And of course, feel free to say anything else on the subject, it would be most appreciated!

Progress comes in stages and I don't think anyone here will commit to a time when they 'can read Chinese' as it were.  Whatever level you reach, theres always something more difficult that you could be reading.  For me, a few big milestones were:

• Being able to read and respond to text messages without having a dictionary in one hand.