Chinese-Forums

Which cities do not require 2 years post-graduate work experience for Z visa?

Sme90

Its next to impossible to find out online which cities don't need this requirement. Does anyone know from personal experience, or know people who have applied to cities without meeting this requirement? The only city that I know of is Changsha, but even with that one I am not 100% sure. Other people say Tier 2, 3+ cities, but it seems even some of these have this requirement as well.

I'm only asking because I am actively looking for work in China (just graduated with bachelors in computer science, have 2 years of relevant experience but unfortunately it is all done before I graduated, even though I would essentially be doing the same work after I graduated  :( ). I just don't want to waste my time or another company's time trying to apply for work in a place where I would eventually get turned down.

Thanks

It's best not to think of it as a requirement but as a guideline. Different cities or provinces will be more flexible depending on how badly they need to attract someone and how unattractive their city or province is.

It would also depend on the job and how much of a demand there is for that. For example, the demand for English teachers always exceeds supply so even if there is a requirement for two years teaching experience listed, in practice it isn't that strict. Somewhere like BEIJING or Shanghai can be strict because it's popular and they can choose who they like. Somewhere like Yinchuan which many foreigners have never heard of, likely list the requirement but actually will accept most people who want to go and work there. Otherwise they won't get anyone.

You are very unlikely to find any kind of list online and, if you're looking for a job in a specific field that isn't teaching, I'd imagine you won't find others experiences posted online either. I would just apply to jobs anyway and see what happens.

• Like 1