Chinese-Forums

Embarassment...

naruto494

Well, i've been learning chinese for just under three years now and i'm completely hopeless at it. Maybe because i don't enough "drive" or maybe because i don't have enough "passion"...but now its really starting to get to me...yes i'm chinese and i can't speak my own language >.<...can anyone help please?

Okk lets see..backgroundd..

Well i grew up my entire life around cantonese speakers, but i mostly spoke english since my parents always spoke to me in it.

Around 2 years ago i started going to a chinese school where...its pretty humiliating for me since i'm in a class full of small kids. And adding to that, they speak as if they were natives T.T Before that, i was getting lessons at someones house...but it didnt prove too useful...

Welll chinese school is once a week...and yeh we get a considerable amount of work....but i have no idea of how i should practice my listening and speaking skills...usually when i speak at school...i have to repeat myself 3 times in chinese and if they still don't understand...in english

My reading isn't soo bad...but most of the time...i usually can't understand what i'm actually reading...

My listening well is preliminary in my opinion...sometimes...i have to pretend i understand in class just so i don't look like a fool >.< ...

Wellll yeh...thats pretty much how hopeless i am in chinese...i'm stuck...and i have no idea how i should get better...

naruto, pls don't feel discouraged - it takes a while. I've been through

something similar.

Do you understand Cantonese? You didn't say if you were learning

Cantonese or Mandarin. I suggest you create other opportunities

to immerse yourself in Chinese. For example, see if you can

watch Chinese TV (TV dramas or comedies from HK, TW or the mainland)

on a regular basis ( either thru satellite, cable or downloads from bittorrent, eMule etc)

especially on things that interest you. It is easy to get hooked :)