Chinese-Forums

How many hànzì are used as syllabaries ?

boctulus

Hi!

OneEye told me about lean words as 加拿大 for Canada and I know there are characters used as phonetic components but... how many of them are used for phonetic purposes ?

In japanese about (two sets of) 50 characters are used for syllabaries but in chinese ? how many hànzìs ?

I hope my question be understood (I know it can sound stupid but my research throw zero results)

Here's an interesting list in Wikipedia, see under "Transcription table".

The difference with Japanase is that most characters in that list are actually used in other, non-loan words. However, as far as I can tell, some of the hanzi in that list are used mostly for such loan words and are or have become quite rare in non-borrowed words. I'm no expert though, so someone else may want to provide a more accurate answer.

Hope this helps.

• Like 3

As far as I know such a thing doesn't exists in chinese.

a set of written characters representing syllables and (in some languages or stages of writing) serving the purpose of an alphabet.

Words like Canada 加拿大 use characters that sound the same. Other loan words sometimes use characters that mean the same or similar to the English as well as the sounds, but not often.

Usually its only the sound, coffee is 咖啡 which starts with a c like Canada but a different character is used.

You will just have learn them as you encounter them, there is no set list of characters to sound.

I mean if there is about 1600 different pinyin syllables (including tones),  so... 1600 characters for phonetic components (chinese words) and loan words ? or even more ?

If japanese can use 50 sounds... and koreans 30 sounds, why chinese need more than 1600 ? even for a 4 tones language is BIG number.

I think you should thoroughly read the Wikipedia article laurenth linked to in his post.