Chinese-Forums

Hero good or bad?

deanis45

I am an English teacher in China and my job involves encouraging my students to talk about a variety of topics.

When I reach the topic of films I invariably will talk about Chinese films and that will invariably bring me to the movie "Hero" by Zhang yi mou.

Almost none of my students like Hero or its sister "House of flying daggers".

But from this forum and other sources it seems apparent that unlike the Chinese many foreigners really love these movies.

So my question to you Hero afficionados before I reveal any of my own opinions.

WHY?

Why do you like this movie?

The question is are movies like Hero opening up Chinese culture to the international public or are they representative of everything bad about Chinese cinema?

Please reply anybody who has an opinion.

House of Flying Daggers was too sappy (like daytime Korean soaps) and had a plot as predictable as a $1 love triangle paperback; and the shameless political message in Hero was too strong for many Chinese with a little bit of intelligence to swallow. Most Chinese today just want movies that provide entertaining daily portrayals of modern life (focusing on its instability and alienation, including the modern relationship). In many cases, American blockbusters achieve this better than a lot of the over-the-top artsy or "magical" (flying in bamboo trees) Chinese films lately.

IMO, Zhang Yimou is a subpar director who got famous through portrayals of Chinese exoticism.