Chinese-Forums

Best organisations to work for?

goldchocobo

Hi all I'm a recent grad from Sydney Australia. I'm looking to immerse myself in Chinese culture and language whilst teaching abroad and am very grateful as I recently received a a 1 year contract offer in Beijing.

Just wanted to know what you guys think about EF before I sign away as I am quite happy to do so.

1. What do you think of EF?

2. Are there any other organisations/institutions or universities they would recommend? (preferably Beijing)

3. Beijing New Oriental Foreign Language School vs. EF Education First?

People have been saying New Oriental and EF are the biggest and best organisations in China

EF is one of the biggest language schools in China, they've got a lot of centers and financial backing. From what I've heard the pay is "ok" but I've also heard they work you quite hard.

However, I think they're willing to invest in you as an employee. They offer Trinity TESOL courses - all levels - to their teachers (not for free) which are based online and in person. As they have a large network of schools in China there are also good opportunities for advancement to senior teacher, assistant director of studies and director of studies. They offer to pay for or sponsor some of the cost of qualifications as well but you'd need to sign up for a certain period of time.

Like many larger schools, they have foreign management at the centers - like senior teacher and DOS - so that can make problem solution easier.

If you've been offered a contract, like the feel of the people you've dealt with etc then I'd just go for it.

One thing, they told you where you're going to be teaching? If not, and you have to sign up first, then maybe you'll end up somewhere you aren't keen on.

• 2 weeks later...