Chinese-Forums

taipei language schools

owen

I know there was already a thread about studying in taiwan but i was looking for some more specific information on any taipei language schools that anyone has attended. I am looking to study there for a few months so a university is probably out. Another option i'm considering is just paying some young man or woman to tutor me. For this i don't really feel that i need someone who is a teacher by trade, just someone i might like to converse with and can ask questions. Is that at all reasonable or is a 'professional' teacher a must?

Have a look at my webpage Studying Chinese in Taiwan for some useful links. As roddy suggested you will find some good information at forumosa.com. Do a search first, because if you ask a stupid question there you will get flamed badly!

I think a private language school is a better choice if you are only studying for a few months. If nothing else it will be a bit more flexible in its timetable. Many people speak well of TLI although there some of the posters on forumosa say there is little difference in what the school offers and most teach using the same techniques.

I think you are better off spending the money on an experienced teacher. Perhaps it depends on your level of Chinese. If you can already converse quite comfortably then maybe you can just learn through conversation, but why pay someone for that. Just go out to the pub or walk down the street and start chatting to people.

If you can already converse quite comfortably then maybe you can just learn through conversation, but why pay someone for that. Just go out to the pub or walk down the street and start chatting to people.