Chinese-Forums

Grad School at home after studying in China

Harvey

Well, I studied Chinese for a semester (though I orginally planned for a year) and now I'm going to get my MBA in the US. Chinese language is always a plus on an application, especially for business or international relations type studies. It could also possibly help you get a job on graduation if you want to go back to China.

Harvey, perhaps you could be a little more specific about your questions and goals. The answer to your question is pretty obvious. There are plenty of people who spend a year in China studying Chinese as an undergrad or after graduating, and then go on for post-graduate study. Some of them do it because they have aspirations to work in academia and are specifically interested in Asian studies or other liberal arts fields where they will be doing something with a China focus. Others do it because they know they will be interested in doing business in China after they finish an MBA. Others might go back to the US, do an MA in something like international relations or translation and then go to work for an intelligence agency. The number of people who do this sort of thing is not small, so perhaps you'd get information that's more relevant to your plans if you were a bit more specific.

Well, I studied Chinese for a semester (though I orginally planned for a year) and now I'm going to get my MBA in the US.

Thanks for the info.

Sorry for the interview, but let me ask you two questions.

At what point in your life did you go to China to study Chinese? Was that immediately after undergrad? Or were you mid-career?

What made you decide to cut China from 1 year to 1 semester?

As for my motives, I have been working in Japan as an IT professional for (oh man) 3! years, going on 4 now. I'm confused about my next move.

I'm thinking, go to China to a language school.... or

Go to grad school in US and study International Development.... or