Chinese-Forums

这里有 or 这里是 ?

2bwo

I'm a beginner and I've just studied that you can express that something is in a place using 有 or 在.

The book gives the following example:

1 这里有书

2 书在这里

Then in the exercises this sentence came up: 这里____小雨的家

It asks to put the correct verb between 在 有 是

According to the example I put 有 but then a friend told me to put 是.

Another friend told me that it's the same thing, just that if you put 有 it becomes "XiaoYu's house is here" and if you put 是 it becomes "This is XiaoYu's house".

Does this mean that 这里 can also be used as "this"? Shouldn't it be 这个?

这里 means "here" not "this".

是 and 有 change slightly the meaning. 有 + location it means that there is something in that place, usually it's indetermined: 这里有人 means "there is somebody here". 是 + location, it's an identification, telling what is the thing in this place.  Like in your example 这里是小雨的家,  it's telling what is here - Xiaoyu's home. If you say 这里有小雨的家, it could mean "somewhere in this place there is Xiaoyu's home". 

Here are some examples:

http://www.digmandarin.com/how-to-use-zai-you-and-shi-express-existence.html

How about this one...

甲:这个对话有意思

乙:我们都说七个字

甲:天涯何处无草香

乙:此地无银三百两

甲:中华人民共和国

乙:你是我的小苹果

甲:用"这里有"造句吧

乙:"这里有小雨的家"

• Like 1

Thank you guys for the explanations. To clear up my mind In this case I think what I need to remember is this, as it's written in the page Edita posted:

A sentence with 有 only denotes what exists in a certain place, while a sentence with 是 not only indicates that a certain thing exists in a certain place, but also further specifies what that thing is.

Yeah, 这里有小雨的家 isn't grammatically incorrect, it's just not something you'd ever be likely to say in a real situation.