Chinese-Forums

Currently studying Japanese, but want to dabble in Chinese again. Need help regarding fears

haley_usa

My situation is kind of weird and needs some back story.

I've been studying Japanese for about 6 years and am conversational (not fluent), but initially never actually spoke Japanese to anyone until I was 2 years into studying because of crippling social anxiety. When I finally did get Italki tutors, I was already able to immediately start speaking due to practicing alone and writing a lot (and easy pronunciation). Now, I get tutoring for 2 hours a day almost every day and love talking, even though I'm not perfect. ("Tutoring" as in Skype sessions focusing on reading stories, translating, and telling stories that I picked. I hate structured classes.)

In the past, I probably got about 5 months of Mandarin study under my belt (only writing and reading alone, though). But I can't stop thinking about picking it up again. I really want to get an Italki tutor, but have some fears.

How can I start talking with a tutor if my pronunciation is horrible and I have a very low amount of vocab? Can I start getting tutored immediately (but mostly in English?) or should I wait like 6 months or something? I feel confused, because I haven't experienced a disadvantage like this before (starting a language from zero but wanting to do it with a tutor unlike Japanese at the time). I think I could at least take 30 minute lessons once a day to start out. Compared to Japanese, I would need to include pronunciation in my routine. (Basically, I know how to study and have fun in a language, but how/when do I start speaking at such a low level?) Can someone share how they started out talking with teachers in school or online? Or suggest a routine of what to do with the tutor at that low level?