Chinese-Forums

[delete]

katze882

I went to Jinan University once to take the HSK. The Chinese college is on a small but nice campus across from Guangzhou East Train Station. I didn't go inside any dormitories, but the ones I saw looked spartan on the outside.

Perhaps one good thing about JNU is that there are relatively few English speaking foreigners there. It seems that quite a lot of students are from Vietnam or other SE Asian countries. There are also some Koreans and Japanese. I only saw a couple of westerners there. One of the Vietnamese students I spoke to said that there aren't many non-Asians, so you'll have to use Chinese to interact with other students. It wouldn't be as easy to escape into English as it is up in Beijing.

Guangzhou is alright. The MTR (or whatever they call it) is similar to the one in HK. I sometimes go over to Guangzhou from HK just to shop at the huge book center in Tianhe.

If you live in hostel as a foreign teacher, I believe that you can have a better treatment. Even if they don't offer you washing machine, you can buy one from outside and it is very cheap. GuangZhou is a good place, food is very famous in there. However, you might be caution when you are walking in the shopping area, especially in the crowded street. You have to be careful your wallet and bag because there are many cutpurses. By the way, you don't need to worry about eating because GuangZhou is a a shopper's paradise. :wink:

Hi,katze882, I am the local citizen in Guangzhou and hope I can help you.

I'm going to Jinan University soon and going to live in the hostel... Anyone got advice for me...? Hehe... Like, where to wash clothes -

If you are going to live in hostel, you can take your clothes to the laundry in the hostel. If there is no laundry in it, you can look for it / them in your campus.

where to wash clothes -can't handwash in winter, it'll take weeks for it to dry...