Chinese-Forums

Why learn chinese?

krinkle

I really want to learn chinese-am fascinated actually by all things chinese-I have tapes and a book to learn writing-it interests me very much.

A few questions. What is the best resource for a total beginner to get started with?

Also, what is the benefit of learning it in the world of work? Any?

even if the answer is no to the last questions I still would like to learn chinese

thanks!

k.

For a beginner, it's best to take a class at your university or local community college if they offer Chinese courses. If not then many local Chinese schools offer classes for foreign adults. It doesn't hurt to make some Chinese-speaking friends either because without practice, what you learn in class simply won't be retained as you obviously don't live in a Chinese-speaking society. Environment and practice are very important.

As for benefits for learning Chinese for work, that completely depends on what kind of job you have. I have a friend who works for a textile company that needs constant communication between the HQ in Beijing and its clients in the U.S., therefore he acts as a bridge. To him, being able to speak Chinese is VERY important. However, not every job is like that.