Chinese-Forums

bring mac or pc to china?

justeraren

I'm going to study in beijing and not sure which computer will be best for me to bring.

I prefer mac myself but was told I could run into problems, such as difficulties finding

spare parts, software or getting it serviced. Also trouble viewing certain webpages in China that supposedly use fonts designed for pc:s? (sounds very strange to me).

would be grateful for some info about possible trouble when using mac in china.

thanx,

Niklas

I believe what you heard are nothing more than misconceptions due to ignorance of the Mac platform by the general population.

I've been using Macs for at least 15 years. Of course, I've also used PCs during that time but mostly Macs. Out of the 5 Macs I've owned and at least 15 other that I've helped setup or maintain, only one that was ever so broken that it needed spare parts or to get serviced and it was because my butter fingers dropped the PowerBook and caused a dent which didn't even affect the system. Of course, since it was just a cosmetic damage, I didn't do anything with it.

In any case, in China you'll probably only find Macs in graphic / video design firms or art schools such as the Central Academy of Fine Arts in Beijing. Most everyday people use PCs (and not premium PCs such as top of the line HP) simply because they can't afford Macs (thanks to the exchange rate and all...). However, as people in China get wealthier and Mac prices get lower, you'll probably find more and more Mac users in China and therefore more places to get "spare parts and service"...

Apple has a branch in China and it seems like it's just getting bigger. There are also several Apple Stores opening up around China, namely Beijing and Shanghai though. There is even a pretty big and very active Mac User Group based in Beijing called BeiMac. I'm sure if you ever run into any trouble they would be more than happy to help you out. It's the Mac spirit after all... :wink: