Chinese-Forums

Private schools Dongbei specifically Yanji and Dalian.

flray

Hello All,

Thanks  in advance.  I am a self taught Mandarin learner who is probably at the advanced beginner to low intermediate level. For the past year I have worked at a large Asian grocery store.  My coworkers have been heavily from Southern China(Guangzhou, Fuzhou, Taiwan) but also some from Northern and Central China (Xian, Inner Mongolia, Tianjin etc.).    I have gained a lot of knowledge from repetition and expanding my lexicon but know I haven’t fully taken advantage of the opportunity.

I am now looking to travel  to mainland China and specifically the Dongbei region  to improve my Putonghua. I would like to study of a budget minded private school for about 3 months.  I would study at a university but it doesn’t seem to line up with my time frame.

Yanji

I would like to study or at least spend a couple weeks in Yanji. I have seem several posts on the forum about Yanbian University does anyone know of any private schools? If nothing else I will try to spend a little time and get a private tutor.  I find the bilingual aspect of the city to be very interesting.  I  will attempt to document street signs and put them on a platform(instagram etc) for others to use as well. The way my mind works it will help keep my study of Hanzi interesting as well as improving my Hangul.

Dalian

Dalian seems like it would be a very pleasant place to study.  The air pollution levels are almost off the charts in many cities most specifically in the north east and they seems to be 1/3 to  ¼ the levels in Dalian. I am currently inquiring at Aushi Language training school. The language on the street might be jiao liao dialect of mandarin but close enough. In the same way I would study in Taiwan but want the input from the simplified Hanzi all around.

Harbin