Chinese-Forums

Master's degree to begin my career in China

Devonf

• New Members

I'm interested in pursuing my master's degree in China in order to launch my career. I'm interested in working for a public accounting firm or a major bank. I have a bachelor's degree in accounting from a good university in the UK but I found it impossible to find employment or an internship there or in my home country in Canada. I am thinking of applying to an English language master's program in finance at Nottingham Ningbo, Renmin University or University of International Business and Economics. These are all target schools for the Big 4 accounting firms and banks which I want to work for. I understand that these accounting firms prefer not to hire foreigners for their audit practices. I want to work in transaction advisory. My Chinese language abilities are at a beginner level but I'm studying very hard and have a Chinese boyfriend/friends and can partially immerse myself in Canada. I wouldn't be fluent by the time I graduate but I believe I'll be proficient given the speed at which I'm learning. 

Can anyone tell me if this plan is even possible or am I delusional? I am more than willing to work in Hong Kong as I've heard the Big 4 operate mainly in English there. I just want to know if doing my Master's in China will allow me to secure a career launching job even if I'm not 100% fluent in the language. Thanks in advance if anyone can give me advice.

• Like 1

The Big 4 operate a mandarin language stream that starts in the UK but ends with a year in China. It's audit though and you won't be able to work in audit in China unless you're a PRC citizen. If you want to work front office in financial services, you also won't be able to do this in mainland China. It's actually illegal unless you're a PRC citizen. Hong Kong might be an option. What a lot of young grads do when they work in finance or other professional services in China is work for smaller consultancy services.