Chinese-Forums

Studying Computer Science in China

karakorum

Hello everyone,

I have been browsing and searching the forum for a couple of days, but I haven't been able to find the information I want regarding Computer Science degrees in china.

On the few threads that mentioned the discipline, I noticed that @imron often contributed with valuable input so I PMed him and asked for advice about my particular situation, he suggested I create a thread here so that the information would be shared with everyone. Anyone with questions or experience and testimony is welcome to post here.

Here is my personal situation:

In a few weeks, I will graduate with a  Master in Languages and Business from a french university.  I am looking at the possibility of applying for a scholarship and enrolling in a CS Master program in China next year.

Despite the low relevance between my prospective master and CS studies, I am an amateur programmer and I believe I am at least as good as a BS CS student in at the end of his 2nd year.

My current plan is to apply for a Master in Computer Science via CSC scholarship, and get the "1 year chinese class preparation year" before starting the actual CS program, which would give me the time to finish HSK 6 (currently about 5 and a half) and get up to date with CS bachelors on programming ability.

I do not aim at elite universities like Tsinghua or Zhejiang, maybe something more like Xiamen or Chuanda, or anything really.

Is this silly or could it work?

I definitely think it could work, and I would be more worried about your Chinese level doing this rather than your programming ability.

Even with HSK 6, doing a technical masters completely in Chinese will be tough - though probably easier than a non-technical masters because much of the original subject material will have English equivalents.  It will be great for your Chinese though.