Chinese-Forums

Non-native ESL teacher with British degree. Z-visa possible?

Raf

Hi,

I am an ESL teacher on Indian passport. A language school located in Zhejiang province hired me recently and are willing to sponsor me on a work visa. I am an MBA graduate from Staffordshire University in the UK and I have got ESOL B2 City&Guilds qualification which I was told that it is equivalent to TEFL. Never been to China before. Nearly a decade of stay in England gave me a natural flow on british accent. Lately, I read a lot about new visa policies, stringent rules and so on. My question is: Is there any restriction imposed by chinese gov on issuing Z visas to Non-Native Speakers? Or if it is only restricted in highly urbanised provinces/metropolis? Just curious since I have been gathering documents with high-level of hopes. Any reply would be highly appreciated. Thanks in advance. Cheers

On 10/03/2017 at 11:40 AM, Raf said:

Nearly a decade of stay in England gave me a natural flow on british accent.

This sentence is not good English. I would have expected a higher level of English after 10 years of studying. I might have said " Nearly a decade of living in England has given me a naturally flowing British accent" It is still not the best sentence in the world but I think I would understand it better if I was reading it as a prospective employer.

I think you probably can stop "gathering documents with high level of hopes" as you will find it very difficult to get a decent, legal job teaching English not being a native British person.

I know nothing about visas but I do know they prefer native English speakers, from all the topics I have read on these forums.

However if you don't try you won't know, but I wouldn't be too hopeful.

@889 Yes I might have come across a bit strong, I wrangled for a day or two how to approach this. I guess I might have spent more time trying to explain it better but your sentence -

4 hours ago, 889 said: