Chinese-Forums

Learning Goals for 3 Months in China

flray

Hello All,

I setting out goal to keep myself on point and to take advantage of the time I have in China. I know that 3 months is a pretty good block of time but also in many ways  brief.  I am a basic speaker and know maybe about 400 to 500 hanzi. I am self taught and spent about a year working in a Chinese Grocery store with native speakers.  I want to increase my spoken and written/reading comprehension as much as possible.

I think speaking is very important and I want to have a steady input of information to use to improve.

I am going to take private lessons for one month, Monday through Friday  6 hours a day.  They have their own textbooks they use at the school. For the other 2 months I want to self study with the help of language exchange or private tutor.

Materials

A Practical Chinese Grammar  by Samuel Cheung

Mcgraw-hill’s  Chinese Dictionary and Guide.

Contains 2000 Hanzi  with corresponding words. I plan on writing out hanzi old school about 25-50 a day.  Day to day activities in country should reinforce memorized hanzi.

Elementary Chinese Reader ( book one, elementary course) Beijing press

Chinese-english visual bilingual dictionary  DK Press

Should be helpful to review with language partners for subject specific lexicon.

Oh, China Elementary Reader of Modern Chinese for Advanced Beginner

Fantastic Book but a bit heavy so I am photocopying  the Chinese text of each
Chapter

Beginning Chinese John Defrances

Book with no Hanzi  and similarly might photocopy  text to take with me.

Lonely Planet and Berlitz Chinese Phrasebooks.

Berlitz  Chinese Dictionary

Chinese Pod

Plan to do a certain amount of lessons every day  then go out and converse.

Hsk 1-4 word lists.