Chinese-Forums

Questions About Sentence Structuring...

master66241

Hello, I'm a new member of this forum.  I'm not sure where to post my questions, but I guess this sub board fits what I am seeking.

While reading/studying from Beginning Chinese 2nd Revised Edition by John DeFrancis, I came across this:

(PS I am not too good with Chinese. Plus, I'm only just beginning, so some vocab words may be too hard for me or I just haven't learned it yet)

Wǒ měitiān jiào liǎng gè zhōngtóu de shū (我每天叫两个钟头的书). (In the book, the English translation is: I teach two hours everyday)

I've come across similar lines, but now was the time for me to ask questions.

1.  Is it necessary to have "de" and "shū"? If we were to put the sentence as "Wǒ měitiān jiào liǎng gè zhōngtóu", wouldn't it still mean the same thing? 

2. The word "shu" was taught to me as books. However, in these lines, they use it differently. Can someone explain to me when you can use these words and perhaps even it's other alternate definitions.

For my next set of questions, I don't believe it should be in this section, but since it's the same thread, I guess I could ask it here too.

When saying "Chinese characters",  is it "Zhōngguó zì (中国字)" or "Zhōngwén zì (中文字)"? I was taught the latter, but I was wondering if the first choice could work too. Is there any difference between the 2?

Please help me...Thanks in advance!

1. It would mean the same thing and you can imagine someone saying it. But you'd be relying on context more and the sentence as given is perfectly fine. I also wonder what is being taught at this point? You might end up removing the very grammar point. 

2. It's a compound form (what are they called again?). Similarly the 饭 in 吃饭 doesn't necessarily mean rice. Learn them as they come up.

Welcome to the site!