Chinese-Forums

Degree issue with Z visa application

BMan77

• New Members

Hi there everyone!

I am an English teacher having some problems with getting my Z visa approved.

The school I have applied to has said that the Chinese government has a list of Universities that it recognises and as I have studied at a smaller, private university, it is not on their list and they cannot grant me the Z visa because of that.

I have a feeling they might not be telling me the truth. They say that the Z visa system changed at the end of July with this list of Universities thing.

My feeling is, if the Chinese embassy has authenticated my degree certificate then surely it will be recognised in China.

I have received a working visa in other countries such as South Korea and had no issues.

The school now wants me to arrive on the study visa and teach as a way to 'suppliment my studies' which they say is allowed.

Any advice on this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

If there was such a list, it's not built into the interface when I enter education histories.

I will assume the employer is lying to you and that they are not an actual school and therefore ineligible to employer foreigners as a teacher.

If you could share the name and location of your university I could check it up on some other Chinese databases though.

It could be a provincial, or even more local, thing. Could be one extra-zealous official. And by the time it gets back to you, it's "the government". Where's the school? 

I'd explain to them why your degree is fine, and see what they say. And look for other options too. 

• New Members

Thanks all for your responses!

It's a reputable school with a large footprint in China and around the world so they are legitimate. I also have a friend working there at the moment.

My question is, is it legal to work full time at the language school on a X study visa which the school wants to put me on?